How to Reset a WordPress site with a Single Click

WP Reset plugin is meant for all WP users who decide to start over, no strings attached. It’s kind of like a clean break up, no emotions and no rebound needed. And we are not talking I-will-stalk-your-friends-and-leave-dead-birds-on-your-doorstep kind of break up (I’ve been through stuff…). No Siree Bob. Once you decide to use this magical plugin, there will be nothing haunting you afterward.

 

Whether you want to completely change your website’s business, or you are a developer eager to get rid of all unnecessary digital garbage collected on your dashboard, WP Reset plugin is the right tool for you. It will swiftly clean everything that needs to be gone and save the things that you’ll need again. It’s like the ceremonial break-up bonfire during which you burn everything that could potentially remind you of the creep you just got rid of.

In case this was unclear (which it probably was) once you hit the reset button you will delete the following:

  • All posts, pages, comments, custom post types, users and media entries
  • All default WordPress database tables
  • All custom database tables that carry the same prefix as the prefix used by default tables and defined in wp-config.php

In case this freaked you out, we should note that before anything the reset is initiated you will be required to confirm the action several times, so any chance of accidental reset or data loss is virtually non-existent.

Furthermore, the reset won’t delete or modify the following:

  • Media files. They will be saved untouched in the wp-uploads folder, but they won’t be listed under Media term in the admin.
  • Files. All files stay untouched, as well as all plugins, themes, and uploads.
  • Site title, language, and address, and also WP address and search engine visibility settings.
  • A user that is currently logged in will be automatically restored with the active username and password.

Once the reset commences, you will be logged out, and automatically logged in onto the admin dashboard. WP Reset plugin will also be reactivated if you’ve picked that option among the post-reset options.

 

If this doesn’t seem specific enough for your taste, then you will be happy to know that WP Reset also features a variety of selective reset tools, including:

  • Delete uploads. This tool deletes all files, as well as the folder in the /uploads/ folder.
  • Delete transients. This will delete all transient related database entries. It will also delete all orphaned timeout entries, expired and non-expired transients.
  • Delete plugins. This tool deletes every plugin, except WP Reset (it stays active).
  • Reset theme options. Resets all options related to all themes as long as they use the WP theme mods API.
  • Empty or delete custom tables. This tool deletes (drops) or empties (truncates) all custom database tables.
  • Delete themes. This tool deletes all themes.
  • Delete .htaccess file. This one will delete the .htaccess file.

 

This terrific plugin also features the full WP-CLI support, which means that it is as quick as can be. Help on the WP-CLI commands is accessible through wp help reset. If you want to skip the command confirmation process and speed things up, you can simply use the –yes option. We should also note that with this particular reset the first user with administrator privileges gets restored, and not the active user. Just like with using the reset with GUI, you should also be careful when using it with WP-CLI, as it doesn’t have any possibility of undo whatsoever.

WP Reset plugin also comes with the Database Snapshot feature, which enables you to restore your installation to the selected database snapshot. A database snapshot is a full copy of all WordPress database tables that are saved in the currently used database. It is very important to mention, that files are not included or saved in snapshots at all. Database snapshots are actually created to be a comprehensive tool for developers, so they aren’t meant to be used as backups. However, they can e used as backups if needed, but it is advised to acquire some other tool that is more suitable for backups of live sites.

Database snapshots can also be used if you want to keep track of what changes a particular plugin created to your database. You will be able to see what changes were made to the settings portion of your site, as well as what custom tables are made, deleted or modified. You can also use database snapshots to swiftly and easily restore your development environment after you’ve tested database related changes. If you opt to restore one snapshot, the process won’t affect any other snapshots or, for that matter, any WP Reset settings. If you are still uncertain about this feature, we should mention that creating a snapshot takes just 1-2 seconds so you can be sure that you won’t waste any of your valuable time.

 

WP Reset plugin isn’t fully tested with multisite, so you should be extra careful when using it while the multisite option is enabled. Resetting the main site isn’t recommended, but sub-sites should be just fine. As for the compatibility issue, the WP Reset developer team is currently working on it, so it can be expected in the near future as well. Some other marvelous features that are currently in the making include the nuclear reset button that will enable you to really clean EVERYTHING, as well as WPMU, or WP Network compatibility, which will enable you to have a more targeted use of tools on network sites allowing you to reset them from the network admin. There is also the plugins and themes collection being developed, as well as Change WP Version feature, which will let you swiftly downgrade and upgrade WordPress with a single click.

WP Reset has a bunch of awesome features and even more to come, it is quick, user-friendly and there is a free version available now! Don’t overthink it, do yourself a favor and give this stellar plugin a chance, you won’t regret it.

Advertisements